In a small clearing behind the main street of the village a Unitarian chapel once stood before it was demolished after severe bomb damage in the Second World War.
The first chapel on this site was licensed as a Meeting House for ‘Protestant Dissenters’ on 11 July 1706. Founded in 1705 by Henry Daliel, its first minister with five other Dissenters. It was completed in 1709, two years before his death. Daliel’s grave slab survives. The chapel, built of brick and flint, was designed to seat about 200 people. By 1723 it was described as a ‘Congregational Church’. About a century later, it became one of only six Unitarian chapels in the county.
Though only the foundations remain visitors can still see some fine 18th-century grave slabs set in the gravel, one commemorating a man ’30 years Collector of the Salt Duties’.
How to find Filby Chapel
Filby lies on the main A1064 road from Acle to Caister-on-Sea. From the main road through the village, turn onto Thrigby Road (right from Norwich/Acle direction, left from Yarmouth/Caister), following signs towards Thrigby Hall wildlife park. Look out for a field gate on the left with the words ‘Unitarian Heritage Site’ written in gold along the top. Walk through the small meadow along the public footpath to the chapel site at the rear.
Unitarian Heritage Site